Divine Grime

Scott Farris 2012

I first learned of Divine from a Documentary on filmaker John Waters called Divine Trash. There was this amazing introduction of her that cut all her walking scenes together, that I found Simply Captivating. So much Attitude and Confidence. Just Cool.

That’s what inspired this piece.

I started out with a silk screen. The  tests went unused until now. Took low-res pictures of my favorite results. And tweaked it in photoshop for the final version. I went for a gritty feel that I felt best exemplified her onscreen persona.

Here’s a music video Divine put out in the 80’s for your viewing pleasure.

Leave a Reply

